“We’ve now instituted a 90-day delay in deleting the content, including the photos, metadata, comments, and all the bits of an account, after it’s deleted,” Flickr said in a blog post yesterday.
Before deleting an account, Flickr reviews the content and activity against the Community Guidelines and deletes only when that is the appropriate action according to their policies. Because of the policies and procedures they have in place, it is very rare that an account is deleted in error. However, if someone believes that their account was deleted when it shouldn’t have been, they can write in. Flickr will review the account again, and if there was an error it will be restored.
If you have second thoughts after you press the delete button:
“If you deleted your account yourself, you can write in, and if we can verify you as the account owner, we can restore the account. If it has been less than 90 days, the content of the account will also be restored,” Flickr said in its account FAQ. “When an account is deleted, the content, including the photos, metadata, comments, and everything else, will stay on the servers for 90 days, but is no longer publicly accessible. After that period, we erase it from our servers, ensuring a clean wipe of your information.