Alert | Facebook Places: Check This Out Before You Check In

4561v1 max 450x450 Alert | Facebook Places: Check This Out Before You Check In
Image via CrunchBase

With every new application there are a few pitfalls that one must be cognizant of before jumping on the “I have to install the latest application” for my smart-phone bandwagon before reading the fine print.

via ACLU: I read this snippet of information that prompt me to check out my own Facebook privacy setting right after I blogged about Places this morning. My suggestion to my Facebook peeps to avoid any misunderstanding that would prompt you to delete your Facebook is to periodically check and update your Facebook account settings. If you have other applications….now is a good time to check the application setting to prevent anyone from checking in for you. I am all for staying abreast of technology and the latest deets. This is creepy! Just to the thought of someone being able to  check in for you sort of reminds me of identity theft….#JUSTSAYING there is always going to be an asswipe who takes away the true intent of the Facebook Places application to another level. Just be careful peeps….the world has some beast in it and they are not concern about your safety. At the end of the day……That’s your job!

Following Facebook’s announcement today about its new location-based product, Places, here’s what the ACLU of Northern California has to say on the privacy front:

Facebook made some changes to its regular privacy practices to protect sensitive location-based information, such as limiting the default visibility of check-ins on your feed to “Friends Only.” But it has failed to build in some other important privacy safeguards.

In the world of Facebook Places, “no” is unfortunately not an option.

Places allows your friends to tag you when they check in somewhere, and Facebook makes it very easy to say “yes” to allowing your friends to check in for you. But when it comes to opting out of that feature, you  are only given a “not now” option (aka ask me again later). “No” isn’t one of the easy options.

And if you use Places yourself, you aren’t even given a “not now;” you’re just told that friends are able to check-in for you and left to discover for yourself that you can change this setting by digging into your privacy controls. (Visit our Facebook Places resource page for instructions about how to manage your privacy settings)

Facebook is rolling out “here now,” privacy later.

The “Here Now” feature of Places provides a list of people who have recently checked-in at a given Place. But while Facebook makes it easy to let people know your current location, you have limited ability to control who knows where you are.

• Problem 1: You don’t have full control over who can see you in the “Here Now” list. You can only choose to turn the feature on or off. If it’s on, any Places user who checks in at the same place can see you in the Here Now list.

• Problem 2:  “Here Now” is turned on by default if you have previously selected that “Everyone” can see even a single piece of your  information.

Places data is on the move.

Facebook immediately opened up location data to applications and Connect sites. This means that your friends’ apps may be able to access information about your most recent check-in by default as soon as you start using Places. Even if you’ve already gone through your settings to limit the info that apps can access, you should do it again- you may find that you’ve been defaulted into sharing your location info with apps.

For more information about Facebook Places and detailed instructions for how to manage your privacy settings and safeguard your location information, visit our resource page here.

privacy Alert | Facebook Places: Check This Out Before You Check In

If you want to use the privacy controls that are available, here’s how to do so.

Adjusting Check-In Visibility, Turning “Friend Check-Ins” and “Here Now” Off
  1. Go to your privacy settings page and select “customize settings.”
  2. Select the Places settings.
  3. Enable Places? (You may need to enable the product before you can change your settings.)
  4. Adjust your settings:
    1. To adjust who can see your check-ins, use the pulldown next to “who can see my location.”
    2. To disallow friend check-ins, uncheck the “Allow friends to check-in” box.
    3. To disable Here Now, uncheck the “Here Now” box
  5. If you want, disable Places.
Preventing Your Friends’ Apps From Receiving Your Places Info
  1. Go to your privacy settings page and select “edit my settings” under the “Applications and Websites” title.
  2. Select “edit settings” next to “info available through my friends.”
  3. Uncheck the Places check-in box.
Thanks for visiting thephotographer4you®
Thephotographer4you®
pin it button Alert | Facebook Places: Check This Out Before You Check In
pixel Alert | Facebook Places: Check This Out Before You Check In

Related posts